top of page

The Final Countdown!

Hello hello!

I am presently camped out in my flat marveling at the absurdity of British weather. Just yesterday I was out walking without a jacket enjoying a little sunshine and now today watching snow flurries start to cover the trees.

This time last week, I went with Shane to Heathrow International Airport to see him off as he moved back to the U.S. Then just a few days later I picked up my best friend Taryn from Heathrow and spent a busy 3 days showing her some of the best things London has to offer and this morning I took her to the train station so she could ride back to the airport.

And that's just one week!

I've included some pictures below that Taryn took from her time here that I thought were really worth sharing!

In other news....

I am officially just 16 days away from moving back across the pond!

I cannot begin to explain how incredible this experience has been. To be able to complete the taught portion of my Masters here in the UK has been one of the most profoundly engaging experiences I have ever been apart of. I have learned so much, not just about my field of study but myself.

There are so many people to thank but there is one organization who truly made this journey a possibility and that is Rotary.

I will never be able to give back enough to Rotary for the incredible opportunity they provided for me. The best I can do is to continue their legacy of stewardship, service, community engagement and devotion to those around them.

Being a global scholar has been a great honor and a privilege that I have not nor will ever take lightly. My fellow scholars have been cheerleaders and sources of inspiration and aspiration.

In just over a week my mom will be flying in and I'll be making my second to last trip out to Heathrow Airport. I'll get to show her the city that I have fallen in love with, the education I have been dedicated to, and introduce her to my Rotary host club and all the incredible men and women who have been a guiding force while living here.

On April 2nd I will officially be leaving London to begin my dissertation research and to begin to add to the legacy that Rotary has laid a foundation for. While I am sad that my time in London is coming to an end, I will never forget this city, the United Kingdom, Rotary, and the promises I made.

I can't wait to share this incredible journey with the Rotary Club of La Crosse and the district that I have had the pleasure to represent, I hope I have done them justice and have made them proud.

I intend on completing a second blog post this month just prior to leaving with a summation of my coursework, the UCU strike and to give an update on some of the things I will get to see with my mom when she comes to visit!

Have an amazing couple of weeks between now and then!

I'll be back with more news soon!

bottom of page