top of page

Holiday Recap and the New Year

So as evidenced by my previous post I came back home to chilly (and I mean chilly) Minnesota for my Term 1 break to enjoy the holidays with family and friends.

However I have learned that with the breadth of family and friends I have back home my nearly month long vacation from London has felt like a speeding train. The curves in the track being the multiple family Christmases (I think that is the correct plural), Viking football games, and papers that I managed to get done just before their deadline (with one still on the way for January 8th).

Needless to say, there is plenty to share - from stories to traditions - and I think it is only right to share some of the festivities and lessons from this holiday season with you all.

First I have never, ever, attempted to count how many relatives Shane and I have between the two of us. With both of our fathers being in mixes of nearly ten siblings each and our mothers with multiple siblings themselves, the holiday season always seems, in a word, full.

Full of joy. Full of laughter. Full of rejoicing.

This fullness has meant quite a bit of driving for the two of us this year. In total 5 Christmas celebrations and two New Years gatherings, several family double dates with some of my favorite people in the world, and more food than I care to discuss at length (although there should be some honorable mentions like my Aunt Sissy's amazing Turkey Chow Mien).

I think the total quantity of people that Shane and I will have managed to meet and celebrate with before we leave on the 6th is around 120 (give or take 10 because it has been a lot). Our company has ranged in age from 19 months to 86 years old, they've come from all over, and it is this great diversity of love and companionship that has been a constant reminder of the joy and unconditional love that Christmas represents.

Second, I noticed a trend in my movie viewing habits this year that concerned me a little. The majority of the films I watched either had Ryan Reynolds in the or were Quinton Tarantino films one of which makes perfect sense and the other has left me deeply scarred. I'll be watching Just Friends again before I ever put Hateful Eight back into my personal viewings.

Third, I love being home. I love the cuddles with my cats, the lights, and the constant sound of family coming and going. I love my family. I cannot begin to describe how desperately I missed them these past few months. This short time back home has only proven to me that what I share with my family is truly unique and needs to be cherished and received as the blessing it is.

My sisters, who I have always counted as my best friends, have demonstrated over and over again the incredible women that they are. I am so excited to be apart of their lives and to continue growing with them.

My parents are the source of my inspiration and have been the demonstrators of hard work, love, and devotion my entire life. Their dedication to family and faith along with their deeply rooted sense of justice and accountability have been the cornerstone of my development into adulthood. I would not be who I am today without them.

My maternal grandparents, who have the incredible natural talent of loving well always, remind me of the necessity to commit myself to that ideal. While my paternal grandparents have passed - my grandmother this time last year - I keep my memories of them seeded soundly in my heart and think of them, their struggles and determination to continue on through some of the greatest hardships individuals face. I know that determination alongside loving well will lead me further this year than I can probably imagine right now.

My ornament for the tree this year

One of the Christmas Celebrations, a huge thank you to the Carlson family for being so willing to open their hearts and homes to dork like me

The Shepardson family slap-dash photo for the year

Fourth, Shane is one of the most loving people I know. When it comes to the blessings I have been given and not deserved, he is at the top of the list. Multiple times. This man has chosen to be with me, to share his adventures not due to family ties but simply human choice. I've spent the past few days reflecting on how differently both our lives would have been if we hadn't both been at the same coffee shop two and a half years ago. I am, perhaps, most excited to see where we go in the New Year and what new challenges we will face together and alone.

Speaking of the New Year! There are so many amazing adventures that I want to share and divulge but as of right now I can only give you the minor details of the inner workings, of my wanderlust mind.

Potential 2018 Adventures

- Solo/Joint Backpacking Pilgrimage in April

- Mexico in July

- Maybe a second trip to Peru at the end of July

- Applying for my PhD!

- Shane coaching with a certain track team that many will be familiar with but I can't spill the beans yet

- Shane applying for grad school!

- Potential van trip with my sibs

Of those adventures the one that has the most details is my decision to go on pilgrimage in April. With my second term break from March 22nd to April 22nd, I decided that rather than trying to make a second trip back home I will instead spend upwards of a month on pilgrimage.

Now, I still haven't decided where I am going but I have narrowed it to my top four.

1. El Camino in Spain

2. The Pilgrim's Way in Wales

3. Kumano Kodo in Japan

4. Via Francigena in Italy

Once I reach a final decision I will let you know! If you have any input or advice feel free to leave a comment, send an email, or shoot me a message!

I'll leave you with Shane and my Christmas card that we did not send out last year because we are total failures and had the foresight to know we would totally forget to take a holiday picture this year.

Anyways, all our love, prayers, and warm wishes from our goofy selves to the amazing Rotary members, my ridiculous family, fantastic friends, and loving community.

Peace and Joy (maybe none for the cats though from the looks of this picture)

bottom of page