top of page

Surprise

As I am writing this I have a massive secret. And I wish very badly that I could tell more people, but I just cannot for risk that a very big surprise for my family will be ruined.

My big mouth already spilled the beans to my middle sister Emily and my youngest sister Clair’s boyfriend Alec.

But because I am not posting this until after the surprise has occurred I can let you all in on my big secret.

A few weeks ago, one of my instructors for a course titled International Migration and Diaspora Politics informed us that he was going to drop one of our presentations from formal assessment because he believed it would be nearly impossible to get through all of us and our presentations before the end of term. That meant I had not formal obligation to be on campus outside of attendance purposes past the 5th of December (which attendance is very important), after speaking with all my instructors and tutors on this subject they gave me the ‘go’ to transfer my flight date from December 15th to December 8th.

My family, all thinking that I was coming home on the 15th provided a perfect chance to really surprise them for Christmas.

I could not have done this on my own. So first, I want to thank (a million times over) my incredible instructors and tutors. You made this first term simply a dream. I am so lucky to be studying at SOAS and to have you as my mentors. Next, I need to thank Shane’s older sister Trinity for being such a trooper and managing Chicago rush hour to pick both Shane and I up from the airport and get us to Milwaukee. Third, Stacey and Jesse. You guys are phenomenal. You drove us through some of the first ‘real’ snow to get us back home. I am so lucky to have you as friends and to have so been able to badly take advantage of you. Fourth Shane. I love you. Thank you for being supportive of basically everything I do. You have been such a rock and are a large reason I felt confident enough to come home a week early even with two essays to finish. I know you will keep me accountable to finishing the work I need to do. Finally, Emily and Alec thank you for letting me share my secret with you and for not letting it slip. I know how hard it was for me and I only had to talk to the rest of the family for maybe an hour in total before leaving.

Now it’s time to go through the front door.

Update:

So here is the video clip of me surprising the crap out of my mom Linda, my dad Darin, and my youngest sister Clair. Be warned my mother did engage in the rare use of a cuss word.

Here are some pictures from my flight back and first night back in Dakota:

Landing in Iceland for the transfer flight to Chicago

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone.

I am so blessed to be home.

bottom of page