top of page

SOAS: School of Oriental and African Studies

It was pointed out to me recently that I hadn't done a post on where I was studying. Which to be perfectly honest, shocked me quite a bit. I really don't know how I haven't written about SOAS and The University of London system at-large.

The University of London SOAS is a college that specializes in African, Asian, and Near and Middle Eastern geographic areas. It's 350 undergraduate and 200 post-graduate degrees focus in on areas like Law, Development, Humanities, International Business, Diplomacy, Linguistics, and much more with the intent to create more globally aware professionals and researchers.

SOAS was founded in 1916, originally as the School of Oriental Studies and was expanded to include African specialization in 1938. Honorary fellows of the school have included Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand, Claudia Roden, His Holiness Seiyu Kiriyama, Desi Anwar, and Princess Wijdan bint Fawaz Al-Hashem.

In the past one hundred and one years SOAS has become a center of political, theological, philosophical, and sociological thought on Asia, Africa, and the Middle East in the UK and many surrounding European countries. The library at SOAS is recognized as a collection of national importance which houses 1.5 million items in 400 languages.

SOAS is an incredibly diverse university with one of the largest international student populations in the world. Over 130 countries (on average) are represented at SOAS each year.

It was with all this in mind that I decided to apply to SOAS.

I thought I understood what SOAS was before I began.

Now that I've been on campus for a few days, I have to say none of what I just talked about above does it justice.

SOAS is vibrant and explodes with energy, passion, and purpose.

There is constantly music playing in the court yard and discussions about everything from colonization to the beauty of classic Japanese music can be heard when passing the benches next to the student green. In the academic buildings you can hear, at almost any hour, the buzz of scholars and researchers. The library perfumes most floors with dust making you almost believe that if you just stand in there for a few moments you'll get smarter, it's contagious.

The students at SOAS have been at the front of many social justice movements which I will probably go into more detail about in later posts.

I've placed the SOAS Coat of Arms below:

Our motto is Knowledge is Power and to be very honest, I didn't really like it until I was on campus and I realized just how powerful the students at SOAS are. They are emboldened by their knowledge and study. They are not afraid of asking the hard questions or having to defend their beliefs.

There is a real sense at SOAS that you are meant to be strong in your convictions, deep in your thoughts, powerful in your defense, and humble in your mistakes.

I am proud to be a student at SOAS and excited to begin my course of study.

I'm sure there will be many challenges ahead but I am certain I chose the right place to pursue my graduate career.

Lots of love to everyone back home.

My dad's birthday was on the 25th so if anyone bumps into him give him a hug for me.

I'll post again soon!

bottom of page