top of page

A Fandom Kind of Week


Hello hello!

It is a lovely Wednesday morning from unusually sunny London (don't worry I'm sure the day will prove to be rainy before noon).

So as many of you know I'm a bit of a geek. I grew up on Harry Potter, Winnie the Pooh, Doctor Who, Sherlock Holmes, and lots and lots of Disney.

Now that Shane and I are settled in to our new home, we have had the opportunity to go explore a little.

This of course meant going to Platform 9 3/4, the Sherlock Holmes Museum at 221B Baker Street and on rainy days watching lots of Disney and Doctor Who.

But the best is yet to come, on Friday Shane and I are going to go to the 100 Acre Wood to go visit Pooh's Corner.

Basically this week has become a fandom kind of week, or a 'childhood-dreams-do-come-true' kind of week.

It reminds me a little of Randy Pausch's "Last Lecture". I've attached a link to the video of Randy Pausch's Last Lecture: Achieving Your Childhood Dreams here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ji5_MqicxSo

In his last lecture Randy Pausch speaks about the importance of not only believing but achieving dreams that you had as a child, or at least versions of them.

I've realized that living here, preparing for the school year, and getting to have these incredible experiences I am fulfilling quite a few of the dreams I had as a child.

Anyways, I'm going to go get ready for the day. Lots to plan before Friday and our trip down childhood lane.

And yes. I definitely intend on getting a Pooh bear :)

Update:

I was off on my weather estimate. 2pm rain. I'll get better at my forcasting I promise.

bottom of page