top of page

Transcripts, CAS Applications, Tier-4 Visas, and Enrollment


When people stress the importance of getting a head start on your paperwork as an international student, I highly suggest taking them very seriously.

I have attempted this summer to accomplish everything I possibly can on the paperwork side as quickly as I can and with little over a month left before I leave I can confidently say that I am nowhere near ready yet to leave.

Now I know that may seem like a dramatization but I am very serious. Between submitting final documents and waiting for documents I have had to transform my bedroom into an over sized mail-room with a fax machine.

So, in order to try to help other international students (especially those trying to study in the UK) I would like to provide a brief timeline of my experience applying, being accepted, and enrolling into a foreign University.

Back in November of 2016, I accessed the online application for the University of London SOAS. There are a couple of things to note about applying to a foreign institution for education.

1. There will more than likely be a requirement to know a proficient amount of English. And while this may seem like common sense to an American student it is still worth pointing out that if you are applying from a country that's native language is not English you will have to not only show that you are proficient but submit translations of all your documents if they are not already in English.

2. An advantage of applying to a foreign University is that they probably will not require the GRE or other American standardized higher education testing for admission. They will accept them but they are by no means a requirement of entry. In my experience applications are looking for individuals who can demonstrate problem-solving skills and creative thinking when answering admission application questions.

3. Your personal statement is key. I spent three months on mine. It is not something you should just type up in one sitting and send in. Take your time and be purposeful of the words you are putting on the page. If this is what you want to do with your life, prove it.

After submitting your application there will probably be a brief interim before you have your answer.

If you are applying for a post-graduate degree and are still in the process of receiving your undergraduate you will probably be given a conditional acceptance. This generally lays out the requirement of completing your current degree track with a certain GPA. In my case I had a conditional acceptance until mid-June when my final transcripts were sent from UW-La Crosse.

This long period of conditional acceptance is (again from my experience) really irritating. This is because until you have an unconditional acceptance you cannot apply for a CAS number which is required to apply for a Visa which is needed to, ya know, enter the country to study. *

CAS numbers usually take about 10 working days from the time you demonstrate your unconditional acceptance and application to receive.

After you receive your CAS you can then apply for a Visa (CAS numbers are only valid for 6 months after you receive them so you must apply for a Visa in that time frame). Visas generally only take between 15-20 days to process but they do require some ground work. For a Tier 4 Student Visa there is an online application and then a required trip to a British embassy. The closest one to me is in Chicago.

Students should be aware of a very important caveat. You must demonstrate your ability to be financially independent while abroad and the funds that you will require must be in your account for 28 consecutive days prior to your Visa application. The quantity of funds differs depending on where you are studying, how long your program is, and what type of Visa you are trying to achieve.

For myself, I am still waiting on some final processes on the Rotary Grant so I have to wait to apply. Luckily, I have had a letter of scholarship for over two months so I can show that I have the funds available. If you are a recipient of a scholarship and you want to use this as part of/your entire funds for study, make sure you ask for and receive a letter of support/sponsorship from the grantor/organization.

Something I have been trying to figure out but have yet to discover is if Federal Student Loans have to follow this same 28 consecutive day requirement. While I would assume that they are exempt from this rule, I have yet to hear back from the British Embassy or the Department of Education on this question.

Finally, while most UK Universities allow for first week registration there is generally an online registration period where students can enroll into their "modules" or courses of study. If you are not comfortable enrolling while not in the country, its okay. You can wait. Make sure though that if you are enrolling without the help of the Uni, that you have EVERYTHING in order. All of your paperwork needs to be clear for you to enroll, so make sure to double and triple check to avoid headaches later on.

Alright, well that about catches everyone up on what I have been doing this summer to prepare (outside of the pre-entry reading, the family, the friends, and all the other normal life things). Also if you have read all the way to here, I applaud you. I know it was super long but I wanted to make sure it was as helpful as possible.

I'm going to head out and enjoy the weather and celebrate now with the fam, it was my sister's 19th birthday on Friday :)

Chao!

bottom of page